Do not open until Christmas 1999

Craigory Sparks
The Haven
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2019

A poem about misfits

A Christmas Poem. Not to be opened until 1999.

From the archives:
December 25, 1998.

The Edge Cliff
929 Queen Anne Avenue North

Seattle, WA.

(Transcription)

So This is Christmas. Xmas 98

It rained, then it snowed,
The buds in the hookah pipe glowed.
Carlos and I were on the verge of a fight,
Because we saw there wasn’t more Bud Light.
I wanted one and he wanted two,
So I got ready and put on a shoe.
I looked out the window and what did I see?
It’s raining hard. Oh my god, I got to go pee!
Bacardi and Coke will have to do,
I don’t want to get wet and neither would you.
“Get me a two finger coke”, Carlos said,
“I need to be well rounded, inside my fat head.”
Rudolph, Frosty and Jack!
It’s Christmas, Jesus’s birthday and that’s a fact.

Merry Christmas to all. Let us not fight!
Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

The unfolded note opened in 1999.
Carlos and the Hookah, Christmas 1998.

--

--