Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

College Recruiters, Steel Yourselves for the 2020 College Essays!

Lucie Frost
The Haven
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2020

--

“My family was in quarantine all spring. That gave me time to think about how street dogs must get cold at night. I crocheted 500 blankets and organized a team to distribute them to strays. Because ingenuity = me.”

“My summer mission trip got canceled because of COVID-19, but then I found out we have poor people right here at home. Who knew?”

“This summer, I learned that I have white privilege. Now that I know, I’m starting a petition to end racism.”

“My parents got divorced once.”

“I had to do my summer internship online this year; even so, I found it to be a one-of-a-kind opportunity to interface and collaborate on robust growth and learning experiences, whatever that means.”

“We had to postpone our summer Europe trip. I was mournful, but I came to realize that the pandemic has been hard on everyone.”

“This spring, all of my classes were done by remote learning. It was a challenge, but I persevered, because that’s what I do. I persevere. I’m a perseverator.”

“My name may be Karen, but I’m not a Karen.”

“Because of social distancing, I had to break up with my boyfriend by text. I learned that sometimes, face-to-face conversations are just better. Breakups…

--

--

Lucie Frost
The Haven

Lucie is a former employment lawyer, now ha-ha writer, in Central Texas. You can find her on all the socials (@lucieHfrost) or at her website: luciefrost.com