Did We Fall in Love at the Airport?

Single and the same age. We must have.

Ryan Redmond
The Haven

--

Photo by Rayhan Fahmi on Unsplash

We were at the same gate.

We were both traveling solo.

We were about the same age if I had to guess.

We both had headphones on and scrolled our phones.

The facts are pretty clear.

Single. Same age. Both of us are alone at the airport.

I must ask.

Did we fall in love?

We must have.

Isn’t that what happens with people like us at the airport?

Shouldn’t we go to the bar and get a drink?

It’s only nine in the morning, but it’s the airport. There are no rules with drinking at the airport. A time zone somewhere in the world is in happy hour.

I imagined the entire scenario.

I go over to interrupt and ask if this gate is for San Francisco.

You kindly tell me it is. I say thank you, and I notice your boarding ticket. “You’re in the seat next to me,” I tell you.

You joke about how no one prints their boarding passes anymore, but you have a nostalgia for it. You like to collect them into a scrapbook because travel is a big part of…

--

--