disintegrate

a poem about a fading bond

laksh
The Haven
Mar 27, 2023

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

never thought things would turn this way
never imagined you to be this far away
confused and dazed is all i can feel
memories from our past won’t let me heal

sometimes, i wonder if you even realise
how it is not the same look in your eyes
you are here and there, yet still not here
and as i hurt, you stand unaware

how do i say that it tears me up
to know for you, i am no longer enough
sad that this is what it has come to
what once was bright has lost its hue

all I yearn is for this distance to leave
this is not a bond I wish to grieve
but all i can do is to sit back and wait
nurse my heart and watch it disintegrate

--

--

laksh
The Haven

an easily irritable misanthrope who likes to learn stuff, write poems, and ocassionally build software