Doctor Nooo!

(2023 Remix)

Fatchecker
The Haven
3 min readDec 11, 2023

--

photo of actor Ncuti Gatwa
Photo: Petros. Ncuti Gatwa. The thinking Sci-fi fans’ crumpet?

Ncuti Gatwa (not a real name) is the new Doctor Who, he took over from the old Doctor Who, David Tennant (also not a real name, but at least it’s an indicator of how he lives), and became the 15th Doctor Who.

What is Doctor Who?

“Doctor Who is a British science….” — Wikipedia

Actually, no one cares.

“New Doctor Who Ncuti Gatwa makes shock debut,” read one headline. Really? The identity of the new Doctor were announced at the 2022 BAFTAs (no, I’ve no idea either). If “shock debut” were a person, they would be nicknamed, ‘Blabbermouth.’

The BBC’s mission is to “inform, educate and entertain.” They should add a fourth and fifth, “to ram diversity down our throats.”

I don’t watch Doctor Who, however it’s my inalienable right to complain about a show I never see. Why? Cos I pay for it.

The new Doctor is a classic BBC response to those who say, “Seeing yourself on screen is so important.” In relation to that guff, I’m surprised we have any “first actor to play role X,” seeing as how the “first actor to play role X” is literally the “first actor to play role X,” but were somehow inspired to become an actor even tho’ they didn’t see “themselves” on the screen.

This is what we have come to expect from the taxpayer funded national broadcaster. OK, technically it ain’t taxpayer funded cos The BBC is primarily funded by the licence fee, supplemented by income from its commercial subsidiaries, but you know what I mean. Anyway, they treat us like reTardises.

photo of Doctor Who’s Tardis time travelling machine
Photo: BBC. The BBC, unlike a farmer, is not outstanding in its field.

Well, enough is enough BBC.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me finding the email with my BBC telly licence in. I went paperless cos unlike you BBC, I care about the environment.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me printing out my telly licence.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me reloading my printer with paper.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me printing my telly licence.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me ripping up my licence.

I’m all for diversity, but you can have too much over representation. The BBC is obsessed with diversity and inclusion, and unsurprisingly, BBC casting has picked someone from one of the minority communities who inhabit these isles to be the new Doctor Who.

A Scot. Another Scot. What next? A Doctor Who from Wales?

The BBC needs defunded.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

--

--

Fatchecker
The Haven

Culturally diverse blue collar ageing b-boy and incessant moaner. Midlander. yUK. Pronoun: Amateur hour.