Early Is The New “On Time” For Virtual Meetings

A simple online etiquette for your new digital life

Fernando Doglio
The Haven

--

I’ve worked as a software consultant for my entire professional career. During that time (over 16 years now) I’ve had virtual meetings (or as I like to call them, “calls”) almost every day for one reason or another.

This is mainly because as consultants, due to the international nature of our business, we’re always communicating with people who’re not co-located with us. And this is especially true now, thanks to the virus, however, COVID-19 had nothing to do with that reality back when I started and then, understanding when to join a call was very important, because it said a lot about you, just like a handshake says a lot about a person when you meet them for the first time.

Understanding this small (but crucially important) detail now in the days of social distancing and confinement is massive, which is why I wanted to share with you a lesson I learned from a customer a few years ago.

So the year was 2018, still, a couple of years before the world would break due to COVID-19 and we had to be forced to virtually meet everyone. Back then, my team and I were working for a new customer based in the US, with offices also in Germany and other EU countries. During that time, our main point of contact and…

--

--

Fernando Doglio
The Haven

I write about technology, freelancing and more. Check out my FREE newsletter if you’re into Software Development: https://fernandodoglio.substack.com/