Eight Reasons Why Cats Are Your Best Friend

They’re not unfriendly, they’re just introverted

Nancy Parish
The Haven

--

Photo courtesy of Author

Dogs have long been marketed as man’s best friend. You know how it is. If you want a companion to fetch balls and help you get a date, keep a dog. Meanwhile, if you’re an aging agoraphobic spinster, then a cat or twelve is more your speed. Why is it that way?

It’s simple. Cats need a better marketing team. Cats are actually really good companions and should challenge dogs for the best friend title. Because they are low-key and laid back, they don’t bother. Cats are confident in who they are. They don’t need a slogan to tell them. Cats are like your introverted friend that hangs out on the couch watching Netflix. But they observe things about you — you haven’t observed about yourself. This may be starting to change judging by the huge popularity of cat videos. It’s about time.

Cats may take a while to warm up to people, but once they do, they can bring the fun just like a dog can. Here are eight ways cats are a great best friend.

1. They ensure you don’t get lonely.

Since I started working from home, one of my three cats is always by my side, especially when I hang out on my couch. They’re always there, purring. They look up at me and nudge their heads against my…

--

--

Nancy Parish
The Haven

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/