Emotional Anxiety Dog

You May Say I’m A Whiner

Penofgold
The Haven

--

Photo of Rumi by author

You may say I’m a whiner ooh ooh
But I’m not the only one
Perhaps some day you’ll rescue ooh ooh
And you’ll have so much fun, oh oh oh.

As my newly adopted Maltese mix Rumi lays flat across where my head will rest in a few minutes on a freshly washed pillow case, I’ll just share briefly that this blessing, this wonder of lickiness, this cuddle-poo has added a dance step to every move I make and I ain’t used to it, no no no.

Her Dog Whistle Alert

Today I took her with me to the laundry room at my apartment complex and set up a long leash for her to wander. But as she sat in the sun, she began to whine. Her whine is like a dog whistle, an octave above human hearing and makes you feel like — -like, you would never want anyone to know what it makes you feel like.

The whining from outer space continues. Of course, the darling is trying to get her needs met, as they say in Non-Violent Communication.

I decided I needed to get my needs met or scream. I put my foot down and started whistling back to her. Maybe she’d get the message. But no.

Sacrifices

--

--

Penofgold
The Haven

Penofgold loves to write, calligraph, and dance. A part-time therapist, her biggest visions are for the healing of people, and the unity of our planet.