Floating…

Tom Zappia
The Haven
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2022

I’m currently floating, meaning living in a place that am hoping is only for 4–6 weeks. Essentially, I’m crashing on an air mattress in a friend of a friend’s apartment, but it is two bedrooms. So technically, I am his roommate, and yes, I paid rent for the month of December.

If you’ve never floated before, it’s kind of like a mini vacation, you don’t have a lot of stuff, you’re living out of two duffle bags and a laundry bag, and you’re spending too much money, only you’re not anywhere exotic.

So, life is going great… it’s the holiday season, 90% of my life is in a storage unit, and Kanye is a Nazi.

Basically, my roommate f***ed me hard by ending the lease of an incredibly cheap apartment we were sharing in a very attractive Manhattan neighborhood. Now with the housing and renting market being complete shit, the last thing on Earth I wanted to do was begin looking for an apartment I couldn’t afford with 0 roommate leads. Luckily, my landlord is pretty cool and offered me up a studio (still higher than I can afford but relatively decent for a solo spot in Manhattan right now) three blocks from where I was living with the roommate BUT I was “gambling” on when I would be able to move into it.

Basically some b**ch he’s trying to evict for not paying rent is giving him the run around and getting approval from the city to stay longer. It wouldn’t be until this b**ch gets out, in which case, another one of his tenants would move in there, and I would take that tenant’s studio. So I need a place to “float” for what I was hoping to be no longer than a month, but of course with my luck, will most likely be longer.

So here I stand, hoping to move into this new place on January 1, but currently living somewhat nearby with a solid roommate and maybe not moving in until February 1.

--

--