I’m Your Son’s Sixth Grade Teacher and His After School Program Teacher, And His Summer School Teacher, and I’ll Be Your Server Tonight!

Stacey Curran
The Haven
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2024

--

Photo by Farhad Ibrahimzade on Unsplash

Welcome!

So nice to see you again today, my friend.

It’s wonderful to see your family, too! Hello everyone!

Would you like to hear the specials?

Let me go grab my cheat sheet.

I apologize for having to glance at the special list, but I’ve been up since 4 am, because my own child had a nightmare.

But don’t worry parents, I would never model cheating behavior at my other jobs.

And your son would never cheat in school anyway. He is always prepared for class.

Let me go grab water for all of you.

Ok, my friend! I’m back! I bet you want chicken fingers. I’ll bring lots of ketchup! I see how much you use when I do lunch duty.

How about the rest of you?

Ok, Caesar salad, no dressing, no croutons.

Cheeseburger, sort of medium rare, but definitely not rare.

And macaroni and cheese, light on the cheese.

Oh, and a work packet because you are going on vacation two days before school vacation starts?

--

--

Stacey Curran
The Haven

Former journalist; few N.E. Press Assoc. Awards, few Boston Globe Magazine essays, @TheBelladonnaComedy @Slackjaw @BostonAccent, @WBUR, grocery lists.