GOP Congressman in Hot Water Again for New Post Blaming Asian Dry Cleaner for “Ruining White Hood and Robe”

Rich Taylor
The Haven
Published in
3 min read20 hours ago
Rep. Higgins (R-LA) Definitely Only Waving “Hi”

Just hours after deleting a social media post calling Haitian immigrants “thugs” and “slapstick gangsters,” Republican Congressman Clay Higgins (LA) returned to X this time blaming “heritage hating illegal foreigners” for “ruining my white hood and robe.”

Higgins’ earlier post, which included racist tropes about Haitians and told them to get “their a** out of our country,” led to calls for the House Ethics Committee to look into the matter and demands that Higgins be formally reprimanded. His more recent post stems from his displeasure with the post-cleaning condition of his white hood and robe which a spokesperson said, “is very important and very much part of Rep. Higgins regular weekend evening wear.”

In the dry-cleaning post, Higgins wrote: “I gave the heritage hating illegal foreigners at KKK Dry Cleaners my precious white hood and robe thinking they would understand how precious they were. I also clearly told them ‘very light starch and trim any loose threads around the eyes.’ Well, as part of her legitimate duties, my front desk gal picked them up this morning and they are starched heavier than a fat girl at an all you can eat potato bar! Also, the eyeholes look like someone put lady makeup around them and my patches are gone. This is why we need to kick the a**** of all non-real Americans back to whatever s*** hole they came from! Their kind, whatever it is, has no respect for the class, traditions and heritage of this great nation”

Stephen Tsai, the owner of the long-standing Capitol Hill cleaning establishment and a fifth generation U.S. Citizen, disputed Higgins’ assertions saying that the clothing in question was already in poor condition. “First of all, we are not KKK. We are Klean Klothes Kwik. I told him that first time he came in here with his German Shepherds. As for his order, given the time of year, I thought like someone went to Goodwill, got a ratty old used sheet and made a super lame ghost costume. Who dry cleans a Klan costume anyway? That stuff around the eyes was there at drop-off. Maybe he wore it at a secret Klan drag brunch. And there is no way those patches were legit. Our eco-friendly process is very gentle and those things just melted away which can happen with cheap iron-ons. The groundbreaking cleaning process was invented and patented by my oldest daughter by the way. She in grad school at Stanford.”

When told of Tsai’s words, an apoplectic Higgins took to X again: “Well now I wish I could hire some Haitian to vudu (sic) that guy. The white hood and robe are NOT a costume. They are a proud uniform and celebration of history that have been in my family since my great grandpappy and I would not be caught dead at a brunch let alone a drag one! And is this Sigh (sic) fella accusing me of some kind of stolen racism valor with that iron-on patch dig? My fellow patriots, I earned those patches: One for yelling the ‘N word’ out my car window. One for ‘outstanding use of social media.’ One for microaggression excellence. One for ‘superior contorting of the Bible.’ And one for going to a Morgan Wallen concert. And I bet my oversized stars and bars belt buckle that his kid got into Stanford before our Supreme Court kicked the a** of education welfare also known as Affirmative Action.”

UPDATE: Mr. Tsai reached out to share that through Election Day, a portion of each service charge at his establishment will go directly to Rep. Higgins November opponent and to a newly formed “Kleaners for Kamala” affinity group.

--

--

Rich Taylor
The Haven

Screenwriter/part-time stand-up/full-time minority. A Buckeye living in the DMV. Annually snubbed by People’s Most Beautiful & Time’s most influential lists