Great Weather

J.J. Shannon
The Haven
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Flash Fiction

Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

Edgar looked at Madison and smiled. “Great weather we’re having.”

“If you like rain,” Madison said.

Edgar frowned. “Oh, right.”

“I’m sorry,” Madison said. “Yes, great weather we’re having. Rain is . . . wet and . . . really great.”

Edgar sat back in his chair and stared straight ahead, trying to make sense of what had just happened.

Nearby, Jack cleared his throat and tried to work up the nerve to talk to Carla. He turned to her and smiled. “I’m Jack?”

Carla looked puzzled. “Are you asking me?”

Jack shook his head. “No, I meant to say the weather is lovely today.”

Carla pointed at his leg. “Your pants are soaked from the rain.”

Jack looked down at his pants and shook his head. “Right. What I meant to say is how much I love cats and dogs. Especially when it rains — ”

“Cats and dogs?”

“Yes?”

Jack and Carla frowned at each other for a moment and then sat back in their chairs.

Around the room similar conversations were taking place. Mark and Pete had a brief discussion about weather, but their conversation fizzled after they agreed rain was wet and can be terrible when it causes…

--

--

J.J. Shannon
The Haven

I’m a writer from NYC. I love short stories and flash fiction.