#HardTalk

Sri
The Haven
Published in
1 min readApr 22, 2017
Pixabay

Slammed my laptop & dashed out.
Had promised to meet her at cafe.
It was Friday, everyone seemed in a good mood.

Glanced at my watch, damn it.
As usual, I was running late today as well.
By now, she must have ordered her second coffee.

These days, I had even stopped apologizing.
You gotta own some quirks too, right?
However, today things seemed bit different.

She looked tense, maybe even angry.
How can one be so angry yet so beautiful?
Maybe should have picked up something.

Nah, it’s too much responsibility on a flower.
She took my phone right away.
We need to talk, she said.

I am expecting a call.
Nope, that can wait.
Are you ready to order?

Both — Not yet.
OK, Let’s talk.
You and me, she said.

Just like old times.
Okay, Sure.
No distractions.

Absolutely.
I need the truth.
And my mind rewinds.

Did I miss a reminder?
She holds my hand.
My heart skips a beat.

Watched her naive eyes glisten.
And that’s when she asks me.
Tell me.

Why do you never
share our check-in’s?

And then.
She hands back my phone.
Watches intently.

Inspired by Before Sunrise

--

--