I Am Much Too Young For You: Here Are My Vows:

Christopher Shelley
The Haven
Published in
4 min readApr 29, 2020

--

I’m so glad you hit on me at your niece’s wedding

Photo by Cinematic Imagery on Unsplash

Joan, I’m so happy to be standing here with you in front the five people who still take you seriously, this ULC officiant and my roommate, who offered to be our photographer in exchange for your daughter’s phone number. I don’t care that we’re getting married on a Wednesday night on a balcony overlooking the back of this Hyatt Regency. We have a great view of the pool, it’s reasonably priced and you make me the happiest guy in the world. I’m also the luckiest guy to have such an experienced older woman think I’m man enough to be her third husband. Fourth? Whatever. Numbers are meaningless.

I may not know as much as other guys yet, but you know I’m willing to learn. I may not be as wealthy or…what’s the word…debra-nair as some of the other men who’ve been married to you, but I have youth on my side. You know what I’m talking about. No need to go into details. Nobody needs to hear about our passionate, acrobatic and exhausting sex life. Nobody needs to hear about what you call our ‘Thomas Crown Affair’ staircase sex or what you do with your pearls or what you have me drip into your three o’clock gin.

This is my first time saying vows to anyone so I hope I do a good job. Joan, I promise to be your best friend, constant companion and obedient role play partner. I vow…

--

--

Christopher Shelley
The Haven

Wedding Celebrant | Speaker | Emcee — Humor in Slackjaw, Little Old Lady Comedy, Points in Case. Weddings: www.IlluminatingCeremonies.com