I Am Not Into TikTok

Actual words of a real life Gen Z

Daniela Nair
The Haven
2 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

What is TikTok? For those not only living under the rock but refusing to leave the rock — TikTok is an app that allows people to create and share short videos. It is mostly used by people between the ages of 10 and 19.

This is probably related to why I am not TikTok obsessed. Majority of the content is immature and unnecessary (in my opinion). What is the big deal about lip syncing? And why do you have to “dance” (“dance” and not dance because it looks quite silly especially when people really cannot dance) in order to share facts and opinions? It takes away the importance and seriousness from the message that is meant to be conveyed.

Do not get me wrong; I am not raining on the TikTok parade. I appreciate the informative TikTok videos such as the ones that show you recipes, the life hack ones, etc. I am all for it, I mean it is amazing how so much of useful information can be crammed into a 15 second video. But there is less of these and more of those adding no value to my life whatsoever videos. Whether you are a Boomer, a Millennial or a Gen Z; if you watch TikTok videos then you know exactly what I am referring to. I am talking about people doing ridiculous dances and then getting ridiculed for it. I am talking about the trends being followed for the mere sake of it. Someone just spent 3 hours to perfect a 15 second TikTok video that will compete amongst thousands of others for what? Likes? And what important message did it convey? What did it teach someone?

Am I the only Gen Z that feels the way I feel about most TikTok videos? How do you feel?

--

--