I am the most highly paid author on Medium

They just don’t know it.

Clem Samson
The Haven

--

Last month’s Medium newsletter reported that the highest paid author received 30,000 dollars or something. That is pretty good. Do the math, it’s a decent living if they can keep it up.

But last month on Medium I made over 50,000 dollars, so I am in fact the highest paid author on the service.

I regularly make between 30,000 and 60,000 dollars per month. I have no other job — I’m doing this full time. And by full time I mean 24–7. I get a few hours of sleep. I wake up and I start writing again. Every single day without pause. I’m completely obsessed.

But why don’t the people on Medium know about me?

Because…I am almost 75 different people. That’s right. I have been writing under 75 pen names.

You see, at the end of my best month, a few years back, when I had really ground it out as Clem Samson and gotten a couple stories curated, I was surprised to find I only made 500 bucks. That’s just about enough to live on here in Thailand, so I wasn’t that bummed. But then the thought occurred to me, if I simply multiplied that by about 2, by making up a pen name and publishing another account, I’d make a thousand bucks, and so on and so on. Popular publications that posted my stories would not put up two Clem…

--

--

Clem Samson
The Haven

Humorist, satirist, poetist, journalist. Creative Writing Prof. Buy his The Seven Labyrinths here and go post ego! https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D3Q2CWS2