I Am the Person That Asks to Borrow Something but Never Returns It

Max N
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2020

--

You have your belongings but since I am with you, those belongings are now ours.

Hello, my name is Jay and I like to borrow items and never return them. Sometimes I like to think I forget to return them when in reality I wasn’t going to return them in the first place.

I say I’ll give it back after a few hours when I’m done but weeks later, I still have it. Sometimes I keep the item for so long that the person I borrowed from either buys a new one or they forget it entirely.

When I asked my friend if I could borrow his phone charger, mysteriously his charger becomes my charger. Mysteriously, he loses his charger and I mysteriously have a new charger. When asked about the whereabouts of the charger, I tell him I don’t know where it went. When my friend comes up to me and sees me charge my phone with his charger a week later I tell him, “oh, I forgot to unplug the charger from my phone and return it to you.”

I won’t really call this stealing. You see, I ask first. If I didn’t ask first, then that’s called stealing. It doesn't really matter at that point whether the object was returned or not. I was polite. Yes, I sometimes borrow something and don’t return it until weeks later. Sometimes, I don’t return it at all. I “forget” to return it.

--

--

Max N
The Haven

A writer that writes about JavaScript and Python to beginners. If you find my articles helpful, feel free to follow.