A needless adventure

I Cleaned my Bag and Found Things I Didn’t Expect to

Cleanliness is next to weirdness

Sakhi Gundeti
The Haven

--

Such innocence. Image on Unsplash by Sun Lingyan

When I decided to clean my bag, I found plenty of things I never thought existed. Here they are:

An expired bottle of sunscreen: It was an expensive one. So, I ignored that it was unfit for use. When I applied it, it absorbed more sun rays instead of blocking them. Any tips for removing tan?

A perfect-looking apple: Lately, I’ve been surrounded by doctors (because I’m not eating enough apples), so there’s no way I bought that apple recently. Without bothering to cut it open and meet the worms inside, I dropped it in the trash can.

A bill: It was from a small talk mastery seminar organized by this year’s Extrovert of the Year. She canceled it at the last moment and hasn’t refunded my money yet. Instead, she wrote this article. That idiot.

A ball of hair: I have short hair and the strands in the ball were pretty long. Does hair grow after it falls off? Or is my bag magical? I should keep my head in my bag for a while and see if my hair grows faster.

One hundred grams of regret: I found it in the form of an expired bar of dark chocolate.

A packet of white powder: This one surprised me the most. How did it end up in my bag? I opened the packet, took a pinch of it, and tasted it. It was glucose. And there I was, thinking of making some quick money out of it.

A key: It was a shiny golden key. I thought I’d finally found the key to success; that’s what it must look like, right? But I didn’t know where the lock was, so it was useless.

A lock: It wasn’t a success lock because the key didn’t fit it.

A smiley: A yellow circle with a black smile and no eyes lay at the bottom of my bag in its rubbery creepiness. On the other side, the words ‘Good Luck’ were printed in bold. I ran towards the trash can and dropped it beside the apple.

A dead fly: Maybe the fly wanted to explore my bag and then died of shock after seeing the eyeless smiley.

A note that said ‘Clean bag’: A sticky note I didn’t pay heed to but should have. Clean was neither true as a verb nor as an adjective.

--

--

Sakhi Gundeti
The Haven

She talks about herself in the first person. Fiction and humor writer. Twitter: @sakhi_gundeti (She/Her)