I Don’t Love You Too

John K Adams
The Haven
Published in
5 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Shakespeare in Pixabay

Amy looked into Charlie’s eyes and spoke, “Good night, good night! As sweet repose and rest come to thy heart as that within my breast!”

Charlie looked at his script and said, “Oh, wilt thou leave me so unsatisfied?”

Giving him a mischievous look, “What satisfaction canst thou have to-night?”

“The exchange of thy love’s faithful vow for mine.”

“I give up. Your words ring false as marbles hitting a plate.”

Charlie frowned. “What? Amy, that isn’t in the script.”

“I don’t feel it, Charles.”

“What’s that mean?”

“It means, ‘I. Don’t. Feel. It.’ You don’t mean it.”

“I’m not trying out for a play. You asked me to run lines. My prodigious talents do not include acting. You expect me to become the character?”

“Of course not. I’m talking here. Hello? Amy to Charlie… come in… Me. Not the character.”

“You mean…?”

“Your words are empty. You’re saying the most romantic lines ever. If you can’t make me believe them, what does that say about how you feel?”

He put the script down. “I can tell you, as you, how I feel, as me. I don’t need Shakespeare to say it.”

--

--

John K Adams
The Haven

I write to see memory and language wrestle with reality. Please comment.