I don’t mean to hurt you, but I have to ask you something

Viraja Teggihal
The Haven
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2023

Well,If you knew it could hurt me, why did you want to ask? Now that you’ve decided to ask anyway and put me on the spot, all I can say is, “yeah”. What if I said , “No. Don’t ask me.”

Are you ready to deal with this?

I don’t mean to make you overthink, but this is a small heads up from me so you’re more prepared to deal with this situation in life should it ever arise.

I don’t mean to offend you, but can I be honest?

Well , if you knew it could offend me, then why are you trying to look good by blaming me for taking ‘offence’ instead of taking accountability for causing it? Your honesty is appreciated, but you could’ve said , “Hey, can I give my honest feedback?” I don’t mean to overreact, but does that mean you aren’t honest unless and until you specify it?

I don’t mean to be nosy , but can I know why you broke up?

Well, if you knew you were being nosy, how can you escape the ‘nosy’ tag at least from yourself? Why don’t you say, “Hey I have a very nosy question in mind. Is it okay if I ask?”

Absolutely not. If nosy is what you want to be, I refuse to indulge in this conversation. Instead, you could’ve asked, “ Hey. Are you okay? Your break up must’ve been really rough on you.”

Will I answer that honestly? Umm nope. Firstly, we’re not friends and secondly, I don’t even like you (Again,I don’t mean to hurt you). But, will I lie to you that I’m doing okay and then go home to order more food than I can eat because ordering food is my favorite coping mechanism? Yes. Will I eat all that food ? Nope. But will I eat that food the next day? Yes , because somebody made me feel guilty about how as I’m wasting this food , a poor soul somewhere in the world isn’t getting any. Did that person feed the poor after completely finishing her meal? Absolutely not.

Also, what do you mean by ‘ I don’t mean to’ ??? If you’re not sure what you mean, then do the work to find out what you want to mean so that I can understand better and come up with a new way to find fault with your question.

I don’t mean to disturb you, but could you please move aside?

Tell me one thing. Why are you avoiding the responsibility for causing the disturbance? Now that you’ve decided to disturb me anyway, the least you could do is apologize. Say, “ I’m sorry for disturbing you, but could you please move aside?”

Another way to do it is -

Since you’re saying sorry anyway, you could push the person aside and say, “Sorry, it was by mistake”.

Wait a minute. What do you mean by ‘By’ mistake? Literally everybody in the world blames Mr.Mistake for their doings and consider themselves as good people by apologizing for his mistakes. How selfless! Why can’t you say , “Sorry it was ‘MY’ mistake” instead ?

How could we frame better questions to become kinder and more genuine human beings?

“ Hey, I have some constructive criticism about your work. Is this a good time to talk to you?”

You decide it’s constructive because of your entitlement. (and also because you’re the best opinionated person in the world)

“Hey, I hope you’re taking care of yourself after your break up. Let me know if you want me to order a pizza.” ( Now you pretend like you care and trick the person into giving you the goss over pizza haha. Be petty)

If you’re getting bored, you could totally stop reading my blog because I don’t mean to waste your time.

--

--