I Overheard My Spinach Having a Fight…This Is What Happened.

I know…it is odd. I had never heard spinach fight before either.

K. Barrett
The Haven

--

Photos by author

This is what I heard.

Spinach Leaves:
“We have to get rid of them! They are ruining the rest of us.”
“They aren’t even real leaves. How did they even get in here?”

The Others:
“We have just as much right to be here as the rest of you.”
“We are just as nutritious as you are. We aren’t going anywhere.”

This caught me off guard. What was this world coming to? Even my spinach couldn’t get along. I had to get to the bottom of this.

I looked around inside the triple-washed spinach pack and I saw that there were indeed some leaves that didn’t look like the rest. I did a little research and found that those were cotyledons (They are the first leaf that sprouts before the “real leaves” sprout. They are not a true leaf…but edible.)

I did what any sane person would do. I tasted one. It tasted pretty good to me. I think I knew what side I was on. I would declare that all spinach was created equal.

Then…I looked through the package a little more closely. This is what I saw.

--

--

K. Barrett
The Haven

Awe ambassador. Nature and travel photographer. Also, an educator, mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend. Sharing the power of awe with the world.