I Want To Be A Jewish Country Music Star

David Volk
The Haven
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2023

--

I Think I’ve Finally Found My Market Niche.

Once I hit the big time, I could play for this label. Yidneck.org

Ever since Steve Goodman died back in the 1980s, there’s been a huge hole in country music that no one has been able to fill and now that I’ve discovered it, I believe it could be my path to fame and fortune.

I could become a Jewish country music singer.

I mean, think about it. As a group, we Jews have a lot of reasons to sing country blues. We may not drive pickup trucks or tend to lose track of our dogs because we have the good sense to put trackers on them, but we have plenty to sing about. We’ve been pushed around from country to country, people constantly have it out for us, and, like a henpecked husband, we’re constantly being blamed for stuff we didn’t do. Not only that, but we have to wear those funny hats.

Although I don’t yet have the lyrics or the tunes, I’m already planning my first album — if that’s what they’re called these days. If not, I’m not sure what they’re called. I’ll have to get to the bottom of that real soon, but until then, I am sure of a number of the track titles for my first album. They’ll include

Momma Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Rabbis.

--

--

David Volk
The Haven

I’m a Seattle-based freelancer and humorist who loves goofy humor, politics and pot stirring, if you know what I mean.