I Want to Come Back As a Cat

Deborah Barchi
The Haven
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2020

--

My most recent reincarnation request

Photo by Alexander McFeron on Unsplash

Reincarnation. I can’t really say I believe in it, but then again, who knows? If reincarnation is a possibility, I would like to put in my request . Please, whomever or whatever gets to decide these things, please let me come back as a cat!

Not just any cat, mind. I’m not talking about a life as an alley cat here. No, I want to come back as the most indulged creature on earth…a beloved, pampered house cat.

You’ve heard the expression: “dogs have owners, cats have staff.” Well, I want to be a cat with her own, utterly devoted 24/7 staff.

Who are my role models for this ambition? My own cats, of course. I have happily served as staff to many cats over the years, but Bruce (a big black male cat) and Bonnie ( a little tortoiseshell female ) are my current employers.

I know it is a great responsibility to provide a perfect forever home for these two finicky felines. So I spend a great deal of my time trying to please Bruce and Bonnie with the best food, freshest water, newest toys, and softest cushions and couches to meet their exacting standards.

Yet all too often I find myself transfixed by a discontented glare or a supercilious sneer due to some transgression on my part.

Toady that I am, I try ever harder, every day, to please them. Oh, you are bored with tuna, Bruce? Would you prefer some wild caught salmon? That toy mouse has lost its anxious squeak, Bonnie? Let me rush out to buy you a bigger, better one!

Yes, the life of a pampered house cat is a state of Nirvana I hope to reach some day. For now, I am grateful to be the devoted servant of two beautiful cats who show me in countless ways, every day, what the good life is like!

--

--

Deborah Barchi
The Haven

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.