I Want to Live in My Gingerbread House Now

Thanks for the memories, 2023, but it’s time to go!

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

--

small, homemade gingerbread house
L.B. Lewis’s Gingerbread House from Beverly Center Workshop

After a whirlwind 2023, my new home is looking better than ever.

It smells good. It’s clean. It’s paid off…it’s just a little small.

My year of the rabbit was not warm and fuzzy, but it was expensive.

It started off with the goal: Write more comedy.

Which quickly turned into: Spend money on comedy.

And, then I had a good friend pass away in March which led to: Spend more money on comedy.

I spent the most I’ve ever spent on writing and comedy classes, applications, open mics, and comedy shows. I figured if I was spending money, I had to be serious, and debt is serious.

I also upgraded to be a Medium Member in August. This was to read more original stories by indie authors and to see if as a paying member my content would reach new audiences.

While I have seen growth for my original stories, I made less than $2 during all of 2023 here.

In short, investments in writing yielded a negative ROI this year. However, a few comedic milestones include:

· Is Your Book Idea Really Your Spirit Animal? This was the first humorous essay I got…

--

--

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

Author of SMALL TALK WITH MYSELF, a 2022 Official Selection of Catalyst Festival and #1 Amazon book. Views are my own. Founder: MonteCristoStudio.com.