I Went to Africa and It Wasn’t Funny

Pam Gaslow
The Haven
Published in
10 min readJan 6, 2024

--

Photo: author

I traveled to Africa with my mother a few years ago. We got to Newark airport and checked our luggage. The guy who handled it was extra nice and very polite. When we got to the gate, I sat down and looked at my phone. I had an email from someone named Felix.

To: Pam Gaslow

Reply To: FELIX ________

Subject: Hi

Hi how are u princess this the guy that was working with the bags earlier i just want to let you know ur a beautiful woman and god bless u and ur mom and have a good trip and enjoy ur vacation . . . I saw ur email in ur bag if anything this is my email have a good one.

I was dating a cop at the time so I forwarded it to him.

When we got on the plane I took a Xanax, put earplugs in, and watched as the stewardess demonstrated all the safety procedures for flying. I can’t believe they still show you how to buckle your seat belt. I’m sorry but if you don’t know how to buckle your seat belt, you deserve to fall out of the plane.

4500 hours later we landed in Johannesburg, then met our connecting flight to Zambia where we were going to see Victoria Falls. If you…

--

--

Pam Gaslow
The Haven

Comedian and top writer in humor. Miami based. IG: @pamgaslow, pam@pamgaslow.com. Subscribe to my mailing list: https://upscri.be/fpacdo