I Won an Argument on Facebook and So Can You!

Rachel Keller
The Haven
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2017

With the political climate the way it is these days, we all have to be putting out little acts of resistance. That’s why I logged into Facebook yesterday and spent three hours arguing with a stranger on Buzzfeed’s page!

The process was simple, really. I went to check an article about cats dressed like Harry Potter characters and before I could click the link, I saw Derek’s comment: “Killary for Prison”. Of course I couldn’t let that stand, so I channeled my inner Hermione. I calmly explained that after several (unnecessary) search committees were employed, Hillary Clinton was still not found culpable for Benghazi. It was well researched and I cited my sources. Derek wrote back. “Libtard bitch”. That comment got three likes. I don’t think he got my point.

At this point, I must admit I was irritated. I glared at Derek’s American flag profile picture as I typed back, “those terms are disrespectful to both women and the mental health community”. A minute later, a response! He called me a snowflake and said that Trump is president now and I have to get over it. I started seeing red.

I couldn’t help myself and clicked on Derek’s profile. He’s from Kansas and went to Washington High School. I wasn’t allowed access to too many posts, but what I did see were Breitbart links. Typical.

Long story short, I spent another two hours googling Derek to find the perfect comeback. “I’m NOT sorry your sister died in 2011”. I know, it sounds insensitive, but you have to be tough in this political climate. He never responded back, which means I won! It’s the little things you can do for justice, right?

If I can impart any words of wisdom to future Facebook freedom fighters it’s this: don’t let the Trump supporters get you down. You’re one google search away from victory!

--

--

Rachel Keller
The Haven

NYU student and aspiring comedy writer. Middle School Scrabble Champion.