If a Mountain Lion Starts Eating You, Fight Back

It also warns of mountain lions, with tips on how to prevent attacks.

Gloria Lucas
The Haven

--

The author walking part of the La Luz Trail.

The La Luz Trail in Albuquerque, NM was the first west coast hike that my fiancé, Tim, and I completed. It was also our first road trip as a couple. He confessed later that was when he knew I was the one.

“I knew I really liked you because I spent an entire week stuck in a car with you and still wanted to see you the next day.”

He’s a romantic, to say the least.

He’s also a meticulous planner.

Contrary to popular belief, I do plan out my trips. It’s just that the plan might be picking out a random spot on the map and deciding on which restaurants and museums to visit based on my mood. Totally counts.

On the other hand, Tim plans events down to the minute. And before you can accuse me of being hyperbolic, a few weeks before our departure, he emailed me an excel document. The worksheet displayed each day as a column of 24 cells. It was color-coded by event and mapped out how much time was allotted for each activity — including sleep.

Day 1 arrived and we departed on schedule per the excel doc. As soon as we entered Kentucky, we hit a deer.

--

--

Gloria Lucas
The Haven

I write about trauma and mental health. Sometimes parenting. Also, short stories. Daydreamer. Always behind on laundry. She/her