If We Treated Banks How We Treat Rape Victims

Imagine we saw a rape victim as a bank. Weird but too real, perhaps?

Joanna Henderson
The Haven

--

freepik via freepik.com

I read a post by someone online who was enraged about a sexual assault victim blaming. Their comment was:

“Imagine us treating a rape victim like a robbery victim. Would you ask someone if they “asked for it” while getting robbed?”

That planted an idea in my head. Lo and behold, I present you with a satirical piece on an extremely important topic. If anyone you know has experiences rape, please read A Guide for Friends and Family of Sexual Violence Survivors.

Interviewer: Oh no, I’m so sorry this happened to you! Wait, what exactly happened here?

Bank: I was robbed.

I: No! That’s awful, my condolences. Are you sure this is what happened?

B: Excuse me? Yes, robbers pulled up and stole a bunch of cash from my ATM.

I: I see. Again, I’d like to express how sorry I am. But are you sure you’re remembering this correctly?

B: Pardon me? Yes. I got robbed. What else do you need to hear?

I: Well, were there any witnesses?

B: Yes, there are security cameras you can check.

--

--

Joanna Henderson
The Haven

Canadian. Mental health activist. Banker and financier who drinks too much coffee. Pursuing happiness and sharing my thoughts with others.