I’m a Serial Killer Whose Wife Sold Me Out to the FBI and That’s How I Learned She is a Carceral Feminist

Patrick Traverse
The Haven
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2021

My wife and I have never seen eye to eye on everything. I like cats while she is more of a dog person. My love language is gift giving while hers is using words of affirmation. She has always been agnostic while I am definitely a spiritual person. In fact, it was guidance from these very ‘spirits’ that led to me committing my many murders. All normal couple stuff. But when I found out we disagreed on such a central tenet of my belief system I was shaken to my core. This happened after she found out I had been a prolific serial killer for 30 years and she informed on me to the Federal Bureau of Investigations. This is when I knew things wouldn’t work out between us.

The term ‘carceral feminist’ was coined by the sociologist Elizabeth Bernstein and is used to described a feminist who believes in stricter and stronger laws in dealing with gender issues. This usually means longer prison sentences for men who commit sexual assault, domestic abuse and, according to my wife, a decades long cat-and-mouse game with the police that included the murder of 15 young women. I have never believed in the prison system as an effective deterrent. It hasn’t worked for the war on drugs and it certainly never worked on me. If anything, the thrill of getting caught was a motivator.

My wife and I met in our final year of college. We bonded over a love of cooking and of the outdoors. It was actually my outdoorsiness that helped me to effectively hide the bodies of the majority of my victims. We were both so young and inexperienced in many ways. My wife had never been outside of the state let alone the country and I had only 2 victims to my name. Both of them crimes of opportunity. Such innocent times.

We dated on and off for the next few years before I finally popped the question and we moved in together. Our time together was blissful. She was a very caring and attentive spouse. I really didn’t suspect the darkness she held inside. Perhaps I only see the good in people. We were a happy couple. Friends would have described us as ‘joined at the hip’. But we weren’t co-dependent. We had our separate hobbies. She loved to knit and crochet. I loved to kidnap women and ritualistically murder them as a sacrifice to The Morrigan, a celtic spirit associated with war and fate.

The chain of events that led to my wife’s exposure began when one of my intended victims escaped and an identikit of my face appeared on the evening news. After seeing this image, she rummaged through my personal filing cabinet in our basement. This was a breach of my trust and boundaries that I didn’t think her capable of. It was after she found the souvenirs I had kept of my multiple homicides that she rang the FBI. The same organization that ran COINTELPRO against many groups and people, including Martin Luther King Jr and the black power movement, as well as many feminist groups. An irony that was seemingly lost on my wife. She delivered me into the hands of a justice system that thinks so little of sex workers that it allowed me to remain undetected for the majority of my career as a serial killer.

Do I still love my wife? If I’m being completely honest then I have to say that I do. Strange I know. But love is a mysterious and complicated thing. I see her as two separate people. One of them is the loving, beautiful person that I was married to for 20 years and the other a person who holds deeply toxic and problematic views which continue to uphold a system that victimizes and oppresses some of the most vulnerable people in our society.

--

--

Patrick Traverse
The Haven
Writer for

Patrick Traverse doesn’t exist. He is the twin you absorbed in the womb. He is the voice inside your head that you dare not follow. He is a dream that disappear