I’m the Rotting Banana You Wanted for Banana Bread, And You Really Screwed Me Over

Matthew Grimm
The Haven
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2022
1_PtBeCGR04n3ZNYUTpF9YJQ.png Unsplash

As I lay decomposing in the bowl I was originally placed, expiration date soon approaching, I’m reminded of life’s futility. I came from far away with our paths crossing supposed to be destiny. But life doesn’t quite work that way. You had plans for me when you brought me into your life. I’m going to start eating better, you thought. But you didn’t. Brown spots formed as life slipped away. I could still make use of you yet, you thought to yourself. A tasty treat to surprise my family. But you didn’t. I’m the rotting banana you wanted to make banana bread with, and you really screwed me over.

Fond memories formed my early life. I grew with my family, the “Wild Bunch” as we were known, and life was joyous and happy. The “Wild Bunch” was inseparable; a cluster that grew closer every day. We didn’t say this out loud, but our closeness came from knowing we weren’t meant to be together forever.

I was secure in that notion; I knew I was meant for bigger and better things. Or at least, the optimism of youth had me believe that. I yearned to leave the cluster for a promising future. The other bananas put their hopes and dreams on me. An act I would never forget. We were picked and sent away as destiny awaited.

Much of my kin didn’t make the trip. Or the ones that joined me, didn’t last. Spoiled dreams littered our cluster. I survived the trip, and I consider myself one of the lucky ones. It was like destiny reached out her hand and touched me, telling me that life meant something. The grocery store I was stationed at agreed: I was sold as part of the Super Savings Event at 56 cents a pound.

That’s when you came into my life.

You took me and my brother home as a pair. You sensibly bought what you thought you’d eat. No more buying food you’d just toss out. I hoped to be eaten as a snack like my brother or I’d even accept being blended in a smoothie. But I was abandoned. Left in the fruit bowl waiting for my opportunity to nourish. A squandered opportunity, proof of life’s callousness. Peeling me open seemed less appealing.

I languished on the counter for weeks. My vibrant yellow hue slowly changed to a pitiful brown coat. I could’ve been so much more to you. I was ready for the end — the garbage receptacle — until a revelation saved me. I could use this banana to make banana bread, you thought to yourself. The joyous deception! It was like you meant this for me all along! I moved from my desolate corner of the counter and into the freezer. As the door sealed, so too sealed my fate.

You tricked yourself into thinking you’d get around to making the banana bread, but you didn’t, and you had me believe this as well.

In the freezer, time ceases to exist. One is enveloped by darkness in this cold and crowded space. I found myself pushed aside as it got more crowded. You’d bring more stuff in the freezer, and I’d move back further. One day, you’d bring home some leftover ice cream to eat later, or you’d shove pieces of lemon chicken another day. The freezer was now full, and with such density, the freezer door popped open, flooding the contents on the kitchen floor.

The food was not any good and could only be tossed, leaving no choice but to dispose of the food. Soggy fish sticks, lukewarm bacon, and I, the slowly rotting banana were quickly tossed in the garbage. My dreams — and the dreams of my fellow bananas, went unfulfilled.

I still picture you making the same mistakes. You insist you’d get around to making that banana bread, but you never will. How much life will be taken until you correct yourself? I was meant for something, I should’ve been eaten like my brother, but alas, I wasn’t. I was left to rot, with no use, and a purposeless life. We’re to believe we’re in charge of our destiny, yet destiny throws obstacles meant to crush us, leaving us to play second banana in the cruel game of life.

--

--

Matthew Grimm
The Haven

Matthew Grimm is a comedy writer and improvister based out of London, On.