Interview With The Guy Who Painted a Blank Canvas

An interview with Mr. Richard whose painting “Nothing here” sold for $50 million

Binit Acharya
The Haven

--

A blank canvas
Photo by Justyn Warner on Unsplash

Me: Hello, Mr. Richard. Your painting called “Nothing here” has sold for a whopping $50 million. Congratulations!

Mr. Richard: Thank you. I think this painting is the face of modern art. I am so…

Me: Okay. Shut the hell up! Tell me why.

Mr. Richard: It’s such a big mist…

Me: No! Not the lyrics of the Backstreet Boys song. Tell me why your painting was sold for that much price.

Mr. Richard: It’s all about the meaning. This painting embellishes white with the glorious tint of blue mixed with the warmth of yellow. And when you create a synergy between all of those colors, you get this precious thing.

Me: Can you say that again in English?

Mr. Richard: I mixed white with blue and yellow.

Me: I could do that too!

Mr. Richard: Yes, that is the whole meaning of this painting. It doesn’t matter who did it. It is so separated from the painter that it becomes its own unique thing. Even if you had done this, I bet this wouldn’t have been the same. Definitely not on the atomic level.

--

--

Binit Acharya
The Haven

Walking on the boulevard of life for 18 years and counting...