Is This The Best A Man Can Get?

Splitting hairs over a Gillette Ad

David Caracciolo
The Haven
3 min readJan 20, 2019

--

Welcome to 2019 people! When everyone is pulling their hair over a friggin’ razor ad!!!

Or should I say shaving their hair? Doesn’t matter, much like this ad… the concept of “toxic masculinity” cuts close to the bone…

Photo by Patrick Coddou on Unsplash

Men are not gonna take it anymore! We’ve had enough! It’s bad enough that we were born men and have to endure being lost all the time because we CAN’T bring ourselves to ask for directions! It’s not in our genetic makeup I tells ya!!!

Photo by Jordan Rowland on Unsplash

It’s time to take a stand… and we’re gonna start with this ad!!! Because the last thing I need, first thing in the morning is to cop a lecture from my razor blade! What next? Is my neglected floss gonna tell me I need to floss more? I know this already!!! I’ve been told my teeth look Third World…

Photo by Florian Pagano on Unsplash

It really hurts my fillings.

And that was from a WOMAN! Yet, I don’t see any ads showing us the problems with “toxic femininity” anywhere!!!

Okay, fair point. I think we all need to rise up against this recent wave of “woke” ads trying to solve all the world’s problems one Pepsi at a time…

Credit: Pepsi

It’s ridiculous!!! You’re a razor company!!!

Credit: Handout

What were you thinking anyway? Risking offending the majority of your client base so you can… what? Convince feminists to switch blades? They don’t shave anyway!!!

Photo by Billie on Unsplash

But then I calmed down a bit and tried to look at things from a different perspective.

I took a close, hard look at myself… in the mirror… and you guessed it… I shaved!!!

Credit: Gillette

Now, I feel like a new man! A better man!

Credit: Gillette

The best a man can get!!! Thanks Gillette… for reminding me what being a man is all about. Now, if only my floss could give me directions to the nearest post office…

Photo by Kutan Ural on Unsplash

That’s right, I’m spreading the word!!! I’m going to mail out Gillette razor blades to everyone I know! Just the blade will do. I don’t want to stop them from purchasing the products themselves. After the boycott, Gillette could certainly use the money…

Credit: Gillette

Wow! I just had a great idea for your next ad, Gillette. Tackling the male suicide rate using razors!!!

Actually, on second thought… perhaps it’s best you don’t ad yourself into topics that you’ve got no business adding yourself in…

Credit: Gillette

--

--

David Caracciolo
The Haven

I like big PUNS and I can not lie. You other writers can't deny