Jim Rockford is the Best Detective in TV History

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readJul 4, 2021

--

Leave your name and number and he’ll get back to you.

Creative Commons: Tennessee Wanderer

During the 1970s, if you were in trouble, your best move was to call PI, Jim Rockford. For $200 a day, plus expenses, you could get the best detective in TV history to help you out of a jam. I’m talking about, not just private detectives, but also police detectives. Just consider some of his competition during the 70s.

Frank Cannon: Cannon, played by William Conrad, was a 50ish, 300+ pound white guy. While guys with that profile can probably make it as detectives, they aren’t likely to be able to run down very many guys in foot pursuit. I will give credit for an episode where Cannon bellybutted guy. Way to use your assets, Frank. I’d be afraid to hire Cannon for fear he would go into cardiac arrest at an inopportune time.

Mike Longstreet: Longstreet as portrayed by James Franciscus, was a blind insurance instigator. That’s not as far-fetched as you might think. I thought the last two insurance adjusters I’ve dealt with were also blind. Based on my experience with the insurance industry, I’ve got to say no to a blind insurance investigator.

Frank ? Columbo: It seems that Frank is Lt. Columbo’s name, though that’s not definitive. We go from a blind detective to a detective with one eye, and it’s a definite upgrade. It’s hard to argue…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.