STATE OF THE UNION | SATIRE

Katie Britt Is Ready for Her Closeup

Andrew Jazprose Hill
The Haven
5 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Not everyone liked the Alabama senator’s GOP rebuttal to President Biden’s State of the Union Address. Here’s her rebuttal to the haters.

Screen shot of Alabama GOP Senator Katie Britt wearing a green blouse during her rebuttal to President Biden’s State of the Union Address
Screenshot of GOP Senator Katie Britt via Daily Blast Live & C-SPAN by Jazprose

Hello, my name is Katie Britt, the junior U.S. Senator from Alabama. And I would like to take a moment to address the elephant in the room.

A lot of people online and on television have been saying that my rebuttal to President Biden’s State of the Union Address was really an audition — for the Number Two spot on his ticket in November.

Let me be perfectly clear.

I do not want to be Mr. Trump’s Vice Presidential running mate. I want to be Meryl Streep.

You haters out there have been trashing my rebuttal. You have criticized my beautiful green blouse and questioned my sincerity. You’ve even found fault with my lovely middle-class kitchen, which my husband and I just had remodeled to resemble the kind of kitchen every suburban mom can relate to.

But none of that bothers me.

My dear parents used to say, “Katie, if you can’t stand the heat, stay out of the kitchen.”

Well, I’m here to say loud and clear that I can stand it. Otherwise I wouldn’t have agreed to speak on…

--

--

Andrew Jazprose Hill
The Haven

I write about Art, Culture, and Race with a mindful memoirist's eye. You can also find me in the Jazprose Diaries and in The Fiction Fix on Substack.