An Admission of Guilt

Lines Between Black & White

We could use an infrastructure of facts

Richard L. Boyer
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2021

--

Trinity Kubassek from Pexels

Confidently, angrily,
self-righteously,
we state our convictions:
this is that, that is this
“Global warming is a hoax!”
“Politicians are all crooks!”
“I lost because the
system is rigged!”
“All Southerners are rednecks!”
“Same- sex marriage is wrong!”
“I’m not racist, I just don’t want
them living next door!”
“Left alone, corporations will
do the right thing!”
“It’s my right to carry weapons
wherever and whenever I choose!”
“All conservatives are idiots!”

Can we calm down for a minute? It would be helpful if there was a high concrete wall too steep and smooth to climb. Or a fence; perhaps chain-link, topped with shiny razor-wire, sun glinting off its faceted angles like klieg lights on sharpened blades — a barrier or warning. Yet there is no wall or fence. Nor even a boundary marker. Nor a line of red-flagged pine stakes set on 20 foot…

--

--

Richard L. Boyer
The Haven

Writer, poet, musician, hungry diner at the table of life, enjoying every last crumb of this meal and cleaning my plate; happily perverse in my passions.