Listen to the Urn

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven
Published in
1 min readJan 5, 2023

--

Important messages

Photo by Allec Gomes on Unsplash

Those of you who have been married for many years, like me, will likely have had this experience.

You say to your husband, “We need to replace the front door. Don’t forget to pick up your prescription. We really need to talk about the bank balance.”

What he hears while looking at his phone: Wah, Wah, Wah, Wah

His response: “Sure”

Recently I got serious. He knew what I wanted to say was serious because I asked him to put his phone down: “I want to pick out my urn at the funeral home. It must be blue, and I think you should put it on the middle shelf of the bookcase.

He must have heard me because he replied, “That’s weird. But sure.”

A good friend of mine is into recording and has invented a tiny motion-detected digital tape player.

I could have my revenge for all the Wah, wah-wahs.

I can record messages and put the tape at the bottom of the urn.

When he walks past the urn, he will hear: “Did you lock the door?” Did you wash the dishes? Are you paying the bills?”

--

--

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Haven

A lover of life stories, often finding humor in them. Refuse to take life too seriously. Appreciate out of the ordinary tales and those that inform.