Men Really Do Lack Self-Awareness

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

While women are sometimes hyper critical of themselves.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

Sometimes men are amazing in their ability to rationalize their flaws. Take me for example. At my age and physical situation, I have to acknowledge there are guys better looking than me. But that comes with a caveat. Whenever I see such a man, I tell my wife, “Sure, he looks great, but he’s probably gay.” And using that standard, it’s amazing how many gay guys are out there.

I had a brother-in-law that was also in denial about himself. As years went by, like many of us, he put on a few pounds in his gut. But he prided himself on wearing the same size pants he wore when he was a teenager. That part was true. Unfortunately, he wore them differently. The 32-inch waist was dangerously close to his knees. If his shirt had come untucked he might have been arrested.

At various times I’ve seen and heard 300-pound guys make remarks about “fat chicks.” Absolutely no self-awareness whatsoever.

A co-worker put things in perspective.

I was doing piece work at a sewing factor and the company would play depressing country/western music, as befitted our lot in life. We on one occasion, remarked about the less than overwhelming appearance of a female country/western singer.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.