FUN

Mesonoxian Nudiustertian — and the Search for the Perfectly Worst Story

Can I write a story that earns zero dollars and has zero readers?

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) 😬
The Haven
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

This all started with “wombats” and led inexorably to “nudiustertian” then on to author Mesonoxian Nudiustertian.

I know. I’ve got some ‘splainin’ to do.

Here goes.

I started thinking about weird words like “wombat” and writing popular stories after reading Roz Warren’s excellent story above.

In it she offers,

“It’s not how well you write. It’s what you write about. Unless you are writing about a topic that is of universal interest (love) and not merely of interest to a tiny subsection of the population (wombats) you will not make much money here.”

That got me thinking. In a contrarian fashion of course, since that’s how I roll.

Is it possible to craft a well-written story that earns zero dollars? Simultaneously, could I create so narrow a niche

--

--

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) 😬
The Haven

The “MD” & “um” in Medium, and the “er” in wisenheimer | Doctor Funny editor/czar | Sultan of satire | disgraced former parking lot attendant