My Encounter with Florida Man

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2021

--

I now have a theory as to his origin.

Photo: Upsplash/Debby Hudson

Every area in the United States has it’s quirks and anomalies. I lived in Oklahoma for over 25 years and can vouch for the state having some quirks. Then, in 2013, my family and I moved to Florida. As time went by we came to hear of an odd creature in the state known as, Florida Man.

Florida Man seemed capable of doing incredibly strange things. While Oklahoma has been considering opening a Bigfoot hunting season, sightings of Bigfoot in Oklahoma have been sketchy at best. However, the bizarre behavior of Florida Man has been well documented, often in police records.

It seems as though the activity of Florida Man has been increasing during recent years. What is the origin of Florida Man? I recently had a close encounter with Florida Man and believe the experience will provide some background and context to the activity of Florida Man.

I arrived home with my family on a Saturday afternoon, but had to go a back way because the main street was blocked off by police and emergency medical workers. When I made my way home, I figured out what the commotion was. It was Florida Man!

In my neighbor’s yard about 30 feet up in a tree was a half (more or less) naked man. Florida Man was in my neighborhood. After watching medical personnel try to coax him down for a…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.