My Personally Curated List of 5 Ways to Say “No” and Set a Boundary

wintryujin
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2023
Photo by Erin Larson on Unsplash

Lately, I have been reading and thinking a lot about setting boundaries and having the courage to say a firm “No” to things I don’t want to do. It’s hard, and it takes effort and bravery.

So, here is my own personally, carefully curated list of 5 ways to say “No” to set a boundary.

I hope this helps!

Let’s say your friend asks you to come eat dinner with them…but you’re not feeling it.

Here are the possible responses I recommend:

1. I would love to, but my house is on fire.

Photo by Daniel Tausis on Unsplash

They can’t blame you if your house is burning down…right?

2. I unfortunately have just contracted the Bubonic Plague.

Photo by Hubi .img on Unsplash

No one wants to catch that ratty disease. They’ll leave you alone for sure.

3. Recently, I decided I am now a bear and will be hibernating for an undefined period of time.

Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

Everyone knows bears have got to get their sleep.

4. I have developed a sudden, severe allergy to “dinner”. I might die if I go near it.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

If they keep pushing you to eat dinner now, they’d have a sure homicide on their hands! A foolproof method from any angle.

5. No, thank you. Maybe next time!

Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

Classic.

Difficult.

But direct.

And effective.

I value my readers’ feedback very much.

Please let me know if any of these techniques have worked especially well for you!

--

--

wintryujin
The Haven

Poet, creator, contemplator. I love sugar, walks, trees, listening to KPop, and all things queer. Come stroll with me!