My Top 15 Favorite Comedians

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2021

--

Your list probably wouldn't be the same.

Creative Commons: lowesjersey

Comedy is a subjective thing. Some of you have been subjected to mine for some months now. I believe that who we think is funny gives some insight into our personality. I decided to do my top15 favorite comedians. And then get professional help.

Before the list itself, a quick word about some comics who aren’t on it. I like a comedian who works clean or at least has the ability to work clean. Some guys like to break barriers or go past boundaries. To me, that’s like coloring outside the lines. Plus, I don’t think that society is better now than so many comedians cuss or use sleazy material. But that’s just me.

Goerge Carlin is not on my list. Early George would have made it. His bit about radio station W I N O, Wonderful Wino, was brilliant. But ultimately George wanted to go in a different direction and became a comedic icon. It was a great career move, I just don’t think he was as funny.

I watched some of his later appearances on the Tonight Show and thought he mailed it in. I also thought the audience was responding more to his reputation than his material.

Robin Williams also didn’t make the list. Robin was undeniably a comic genius. I just didn’t care for his hyperkinetic style.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.