Tom Zappia
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2022

--

New Year, Not New Me

My ONLY 2022 resolution is to have NO New Year’s Resolutions. I’ll add it to my past list-

  • Diet
  • Save money
  • Drink less
  • Drink more water
  • Exercise
  • Lose a significant amount of weight
  • Check in on friends
  • Make more money
  • Find a nice girl and settle down
  • Invest more money
  • Buy crypto
  • Buy a house
  • Get famous
  • Have no New Year’s resolutions
  • Get filthy rich or famous or really really lucky and not have to ever work another day in my life

Oh, wait, sorry. I’m getting a little out of hand. But get the heck out of here with these gym memberships for the new year. Apparently gym memberships spike 40 percent every January and then guess what? They dip right back down to the fat U.S. standard by February. Or people just don’t cancel their memberships and continue to pay for nothing.

Don’t make a big deal about the “New Year,” just go on with your life goals and plans as you normally would. That way when they don’t pan out, you won’t feel bad about yourself. And if they do pan out, you’ll feel accomplished without having to make a note that it was a goal for the year. You should always be striving for new goals and aspirations, regardless of what time of the year it is. Having goals is good, but really trying not to strive for them because it’s January is GREAT.

Now, will I potentially look into making money by buying NFTs this year? The answer is yes, most likely. But will I make it a definitive goal of mine? The answer is no. Mostly because I still don’t know what an NFT is or how you can make money from it. But since every single person seems to be trying to do so, that makes me interested, aka a follower, a sheep, not a trailblazer, as one should strive to be. And that way if by some stroke of luck, I decide to buy an NFT or better yet, make my own, and sell it, I will have essentially achieved my goal. But if I continue to be confused and have no clue where to begin or hesitate, and I don’t achieve the “goal,” I won’t have to kick myself in December of 2022 for not achieving it.

--

--