Suzy Soro
The Haven
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2019

--

Notre Dame de Paris burned, the Mueller report was released, Flint got money to clean up their water supply, I’m still in Paris. But the only thing I obsessed about was that Georgia Engel died. She played Georgette on the iconic Mary Tyler Moore Show, the soft-spoken ditsy blonde married to horrible newscaster Ted Baxter. She was only 70. What’s the cut off date for young when you’re old? Is 70 the new 90?

No articles mention what killed her and this annoys me no end. How am I going to spend endless hours on WebMD trying to decide if I have what she had if no one tells me what she had? They don’t even hint at what it could be. “Lost a lot of weight” is no longer a hint to a disease in Hollywood, it’s a wish.

I was at Arclight cinema in Hollywood one night months ago and using the restroom when I heard Georgia’s unmistakable breathy voice come floating out of a stall. Naturally, I waited until she exited because she locked it from the inside and I‘d left my tools at home. And to answer your question YES she was shocked I was standing so close to the door when she exited but if you read my first book, aptly named Celebrity sTalker, you know this was par for me. I did the I’M YOUR BIGGEST FAN SPEECH and turns out we went to the same high school, only at different times. Since I can never shut up I’m not surprised this information was revealed while she was inching towards the door.

RIP Georgia, we should all be as funny as you were.

--

--

Suzy Soro
The Haven

Top writer in humor and complaining. ACTOR: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm. AUTHOR: Mommy Tried to Kill Me, Celebrity Stalker.