Oh, Beach How I Miss You!

And pub, cafe and cinema!

Rachel Dodman
The Haven

--

Photo by Natalya Zaritskaya on Unsplash

My local beach seems far away,
I wish that I was there today,
In the sea or in the sand
Much better than this Covid land

I miss the beach, but not only that,
Looking in shops for seaside tat,
Eating doughnuts with sticky hands,
But a night of TV is what’s planned.

A film with friends
Or beer with mates
A cuppa in china,
With plates of cakes.

But I’m being stupid because I know,
There're no films for the cinema to show,
And I can have tea and cake at mine,
While chatting with friends and family online

The beach won’t be like in my mind,
Not the sunny day I have planned,
The sand is buried under the snow,
Because the beach is at sub-zero!

Photo by Chris Stenger on Unsplash

--

--

Rachel Dodman
The Haven

Rachel is a freelance writer from the UK. Check out her latest novella Downhill From Wednesday on Amazon! www.racheldodman.com