Oh No, Gen X! They’re Calling Us Karens!

Gen Z isn’t just insulting boomers any longer. They’re after Gen X now, and millennials, you could be next.

Jennifer Geer
The Haven
5 min readNov 18, 2019

--

Photo by M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

I’ve been on board with the whole “Ok, boomer”. It’s pretty funny really. Yes, yes, boomers have ruined everything. Ok, boomer. Hahaha. Those entitled old people, so annoying. Their love of plastic straws and air conditioning is killing us all.

There I was, obliviously laughing along with the younger generations, and then it happened, I stumbled onto my first “Ok, Karen” sighting. And I must admit, it stings, it really stings.

I had been contentedly sitting back watching millennials and Generation Z spar against the boomers, without any thought of inserting myself into it.

I’m Gen X. It’s not really my thing to get involved. But then I stumbled across the horrible phrase, the Karen generation, and I’ve been forced to respond.

Watch out millennials, you may think you’re allies now, with your “Ok, boomer” insults and your shared dislike of the evening news. But Gen Z has its sights set high. They’ve moved on to Gen X now, and don’t think you won’t be next.

Millennials, there are so many of you and you’re so opinionated. I’m sure you thought you’d be on top forever, but that’s not the way it works. Gen Z is on fire. They’re coming for us all and they’re coming fast.

I know you think you’re hot stuff. Killing off massive amounts of industries. Napkins, cereal, raisins, mayonnaise, doorbells, homeownership. Nothing is safe in your wake.

But Gen Z, Gen Z is not going to be satisfied with simply affecting industries. They’re out to change the world. They are teenagers tackling huge topics like global warming and gun control.

They’re intelligent and articulate enough to give press conferences on gun control and speak in front of the United Nations at age 16!

They aren’t just worried about themselves, they are trying to save us all. They are taking on the troubles of our entire planet. They may be our only hope.

When I was 16, my crowning achievement was landing that cool job at Blockbuster Video. These kids are truly out of my league.

I’ve been rooting for them, silently of course, because I’m Generation X and don’t want to embarrass myself by acting as if I care about something too much.

But now they’ve called me Karen, forcing me out of my usual cool demeanor and making me question my very existence.

The Karen Generation, for those of you that don’t know, represents everything frumpy and entitled and out of touch. Karen symbolizes the whiny, privileged middle-aged woman that’s always complaining to the manager.

Oh, the unfairness of it all. We are the generation of Kurt Cobain and Pearl Jam and Reality Bites. We had grunge and hip hop and punk. We started the indie film movement.

Photo by Abigail Lynn on Unsplash

We are not frumpy old whiny Karens. Not that a lot of us aren’t named Karen, but that’s not the point.

And here’s my fair warning millennials. Because the scary truth is that you are aging too. It happens to all of us. The oldest of you is almost 40!

The next generation is right there behind you, ready to start humiliating memes about how old and irrelevant you are. Or whatever the next thing after memes will be. Because it happens millennials, it happens.

One day you are walking the earth, feeling cool and unaffected, like Winona Ryder and Ethan Hawke in Reality Bites. In your case, you’ll probably be spreading avocado on toast while bemoaning your still pressing student loan debt.

Yes, I know the avocado toast thing is overdone at this point, but I couldn’t resist.

But then you blink your eyes, and you find yourself carting kids around in your minivan, wondering why on earth this latest generation can’t make some decent music, and then it happens.

Someone out of nowhere calls you a Karen. Although in your case, a Jessica or Brittany I suppose.

It seems terribly unfair to call the generation that brought you Nirvana and grunge “Karens”. We’re still cool, aren’t we? Winona Ryder is still cool. She’s in Stranger Things! You can’t get any cooler than that. And you young people love Friends. They’re Gen X too!

The misunderstandings all begin when the older generation forgets its youth.

The baby boomers were so rebellious and mistrusting of their elders and the establishment. They called big business “the man” and their music was all about their hatred for the older generation. The Who even sang the lyrics, “I hope I die before I get old”.

Have baby boomers forgotten what it’s like to be young? Did they forget they used to wish they’d rather die than get old? Their parents thought they were hippies, overly entitled, out of touch, and generally lazy. Does that sound familiar?

It’s so hard when you’re young to ever imagine growing old. And it’s so hard when you’re old to remember how it truly felt to be young.

I’m trying to hold on and remember. It doesn’t seem so hard, it doesn’t seem that far away. But this younger generation, I’m not sure I was ever like them.

Millennials, don’t do it. Don’t ever forget what it feels like to be young. And then get ready, Gen Z is ready to take over. More than ready, they’re already here.

As for me, this Gen Xer wants to go back into her insulated little bubble of cynicism and despondency. But I don’t know, maybe it’s time to give up the cool facade. I could shed my old ways and get a bit more involved. After all, it’s the entire planet that’s at stake.

But I don’t know, what could I do anyway? I don’t have any helpful ideas. The problems are too big. Too immense. Too everything.

I think I’ll just go stream a John Hughes movie now and get lost in the 80s, back when most of us knew nothing about rising sea levels and sea turtles with plastic straws stuck in their noses.

But whatever I do, and this is important to note. I’m not a Karen.

I’m a Winona Forever.

And if you don’t get that reference, you’re just too young.

--

--

Jennifer Geer
The Haven

Writer, blogger, mom, owner of pugs, wellness enthusiast, and true crime obsessed.