Scared Straight At 42

No. I would not like any salt on that.

Joe Bee
The Haven

--

Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

Scared Straight is not my dad jumping out of my closet in a Jason mask, trying to frighten the gayness from my body.

It’s a program started by New Jersey inmates in the 1970s to horrify delinquents into staying out of prison.

On paper, the program seems like it would be a smashing success, but studies indicate it might not be as effective as previously thought. Either way, Scared Straight is still going strong today and has even been turned into a television series, of which I’m a huge fan.

That’s why I thought it was so bizarre when I got a call from the Baton Rouge Police Department informing me that due to a clerical error, I never completed my compulsory Scared Straight hours for a felony theft charge I incurred when I was sixteen.

Not one to fight the law, I made my way to Louisiana’s capitol city and pulled into the East Baton Rouge Parish Prison to do my time and maybe make a few friends along the way.

Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

As the program is geared toward juveniles, the guards had to inform the children participating in today’s session that they’d be joined by a…

--

--