Showrunner School Part 1: What is a Showrunner?

K.P. Anderson
The Haven
Published in
7 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Wherein the author attempts to explain what he does

Me saying hello to the audience for THE SOUP, my first Showrunner job.

My first job as Showrunner was on THE SOUP with Joel McHale in 2005 and I held the job until the show ended in 2015. Since then, I have held that position numerous comedy/variety and reality productions for many networks and streamers.

In addition, I’ve also run my production company, Pygmy Wolf Productions both under a production deal with Lionsgate and as an independent entity. (The company was named after my nickname for our families’ late cocker spaniel, Ziggy. Like him, Pygmy Wolf Productions is small, but it’ll eventually gnaw your leg off).

Of all the jobs I’ve had, “Showrunner” has been the most difficult, demanding and rewarding. I remain fascinated by its complexities and as long as they let me do it, I don’t think I’ll stop learning from it about entertainment, business or people.

My latest show wrapped production in December. In-between projects, I’ve decided to share what I’ve learned about the job of Showrunner in this series of articles and an upcoming project I’ll be very excited to announce soon.

I’ll try to keep it both fun and informative. Please enjoy part 1 where I attempt to clarify the job itself.

--

--

K.P. Anderson
The Haven

TV comedy writer/Showrunner, comedian and aspiring novelist.