Six Things Your Cat Wants You to Know About the Holidays

The Christmas tree will be climbed

Nancy Parish
The Haven

--

Harper Lee the Cat/ Courtesy of Author

As the days grow colder and the nights get longer, the holiday season will soon be upon us. This intrepid reporter has done a ton of research, examining yuletide seasons of yore, and I’ve discovered some things your cat wants you to know.

Following her guidance will make this festive season easier for both of you.

1. Your cat wants no part of your holiday picture shenanigans

Most cats don’t like their pictures taken. I know my cats never have. Then add in a pair of reindeer antlers, a holiday bow tie, or a Santa hat, and that dislike escalates tenfold. They will hide under the bed until after New Year’s Day.

I have a lot of pictures I’ve snapped of my cats after the carnage. The offending holiday attire hangs off their hindquarters as they scamper away from the camera in a blur. Even my blind cat, Scout scampers away when I bring out the camera. It’s definitely a cat thing. I think she hears the lens extend from its little case and runs away. I’ve learned not to bother.

2. The tree will be climbed.

It’s your own fault. You chose to bring a little bit of nature inside and in the…

--

--

Nancy Parish
The Haven

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/