Stop Making Sequels to Time Travel Movies

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2022

--

It gets entirely too convoluted.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

I enjoy a good science fiction movie. And when it comes to science fiction, one of my favorite basic premises is that of time travel. But with the time travel movie comes the inherent risk of the time travel movie sequel. And with each sequel comes another layer of ridiculousness you have to ignore. It’s like a dirty house or dirty dishes, you can take it for a while but eventually, it gets to the point where you have to do something.

Either you can get off your can and clean up, or hope other family members get disgusted before you do and start picking up the place. Another alternative, if you have Rockefeller-like wealth, is to hire a maid. Or, if you have steely determination, wait for your neighbors to complain and become an episode of Hoarders. But I feel I have digressed. Back to time travel movie sequels.

A case in point, the Back to the Future movies.

I loved the first Back to the Future movie. Unfortunately, like me at a buffet, the creators of this franchise didn’t know when to give it up. Back to the Future II was a convoluted mess. I watched it, primarily because I really enjoyed the first Back to the Future movie.

Back to the Future III was slightly better. I liked the Old West premise but I’m…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.