GETTING BACK TO WORK

Subway Etiquette 101

25 helpful hints for making the most of your ride

Kristine Laco
The Haven
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

Photo by Roy Reyna from Pexels

I have the fortune to live in a city that has a great transit system. As with all wonderful government initiatives, there are responsibilities placed on those who benefit.

As we start to open offices, there will be more and more people cramming into the subway. It’s worth a minute to review the rules of order because I see plenty of people making rookie mistakes when they first start taking the trains. I did them too.

Damn, I used to smile at people.

What a noob I was!

I don’t want you to be caught out not knowing what is expected of you, which is why I compiled this handy guide.

Ride the Rocket with these rules in your pocket.

25 Subway Riding Essentials

  1. If you skip the turnstile, things will get hostile.
  2. The escalator is best if ridden with one hand on both handrails.
  3. Do not wear deodorant. Instead, coat yourself in a generous amount of cheap cologne so your friends can find out what car you are on.
  4. No eye contact on the platform. You might be tempted to look around if you are visiting our fair…

--

--

Kristine Laco
The Haven

My middle finger is my favorite. Satire is my jam. Don’t follow if Laco-intolerant. BE COOL--SUBSCRIBE TO MY NEWSLETTER eepurl.com/hqpXiv